IIE rewards international education innovation

21 March, 2014

The Institute of International Education has presented the IIE Andrew Heiskell Awards for Innovation in International Education, recognising outstanding initiatives among member institutions.

Dr Allan Goodman of IIE presents Nithy-Sevanthinathan with the Community College Award

Presented by IIE President, Dr Allan Goodman, at the annual IIE Best Practices in Internationalization Conference in New York last week, the awards cover four different categories, with the goals of: fostering ideas that will help international education professional create and sustain new opportunities, bringing international education to the forefront of education policy; and stimulating public awareness of the benefits of study abroad and international education exchange.

The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire was the recipient of the Internationalizing the Campus award for its International Fellow Program, an initiative to provide funding to faculty and staff members who want to conduct research, explore scholarly questions, or pursue creative projects together with students in international settings. Honourable mentions in this category went to the University of British Columbia for its Africa Awareness Initiative and to the University of Hyderabad for its Study in India Program.

The Engineers for Developing Countries scheme at Clemson University was the winner of the Study Abroad category, an award that honours innovative programmes and services to make study abroad more accessible to a broader student population. DePaul University received an honourable mention for its FY@broad programme.

In the International Partnerships category, the University of Michigan – Shanghai Jiao Tong University Joint Institute collected the award, the first time a Chinese institution has been awarded, flanked by honourable mentions for the Franklin University – Wyzsza Szkola Bankowa Academic Partnership and the Universidad Autonoma del Estado de Mexico – University of North Texas Academic Liaison Offices.

And in the Internationalizing the Community College category, Lone Star College System was awarded for its Faculty International Exploration Award, and an honourable mention went to Valencia College for the Faculty Development for Study Abroad category.

The IIE Andrew Heiskell Awards are named after Andrew Heiskell, a former chairman of Time Inc. and a long-time member of the Executive Committee of IIE's Board of Trustees.

Dr Allan Goodman of IIE presents Nithy-Sevanthinathan with the Community College Award

As previously reported, IIE recently launched a major campaign to double the number of USA students engaging in study abroad by 2019.

Print This Page Close Window Archive