New Zealand diplomas accepted in China

08, December, 2014

New Zealand’s diplomas have been added to the list of qualifications officially recognised by the Chinese government, following the expansion of a bilateral recognition agreement between the two countries.

Two- and three-year diplomas have been added to the register of qualifications, making it easier for students to further their studies in either country.

“This increases New Zealand’s attractiveness as a study destination and expands opportunities for New Zealanders looking to study in China,” said New Zealand’s Tertiary Education, Skills and Employment Minister, Steven Joyce, when announcing the agreement.

China’s Vice Minister of Education, Dr Hao Ping, and New Zealand’s Secretary for Education, Peter Hughes, signed the Agreement on Mutual Recognition of Academic Degrees in Higher Education between the Government of New Zealand and the Government of the People’s Republic of China at the 8th Joint Working Group of Education and Training meeting.

The arrangement was first signed in 2002 and was updated and re-signed to acknowledge changes to the New Zealand Qualifications Framework. When Chinese students return to China after studying overseas, they need to get their qualifications verified by the China Service Center for Scholarly Exchange (CSCSE).

Meanwhile, nine private training establishments (PTEs) have been added to the Chinese government’s official Jiaoyu Shewai Jianguan Xinx Wang (JSJ) Study Abroad website listing recommended institutions, after four years of negotiations.

“This is an excellent outcome,” says ENZ's Regional Director Greater China, Alexandra Grace.  “It has been a challenging area of work, requiring close coordination between ENZ and NZQA [New Zealand Qualification Authority] and robust discussions with China’s Education Ministry. Working closely, we were able to secure this outcome to the benefit of more of our outstanding private tertiaries.”

The nine providers are: Media Design School; New Zealand College of Chinese Medicine Limited; New Zealand School of Acupuncture and Traditional Chinese Medicine; New Zealand Tertiary College Limited; SAE Institute; South Pacific College of Natural Medicine; The New Zealand College of Massage Limited; UUNZ Institute of Business Limited; and Wellpark College of Natural Therapies Limited.



Print This Page Close Window Archive